.................
 

 
......

Art as Witness:
Art, Art Therapy and Trauma Resolution
International Conference

.....
   

September 18th - 20th, 2008
Montreal, Québec

Art as Witness is an international conference which aims to share knowledge about the role and function of creativity in times of trauma, as well as the efficacy of the creative arts therapies in facilitating trauma resolution.

The experience of trauma is a major public health issue faced today in many countries of the world. Genocide, war, terrorism, abuse and loss are examples of trauma experienced either collectively or individually. For centuries, people have turned to the arts to comprehend, explore, and express their experience of a traumatic event. Art can convey something of the unspeakable, when words are unable to capture the experience. It is by allowing non-verbal expression of emotions, through creative means, that art therapy has been increasingly used in trauma intervention.

This conference will be held in Montreal, Canada, from September 18-20, 2008, and will gather international researchers, practitioners, artists, and students to create an interdisciplinary dialogue about the witnessing function of art created in a time of trauma or during its aftermath, and the role of the creative arts therapies to overcome trauma. Through presentations and experiential workshops, participants will be given the opportunity to exchange ideas and knowledge in an atmosphere open to debate.

Goals of conference

  1. To create an interdisciplinary dialogue about the function of art and creativity at times of trauma and during its aftermath.
  2. To increase awareness and further understanding of how the creative arts therapies can be an effective tool for the intervention and resolution of trauma.
 
 
Copyright © 2008 Art as Witness Conference, Montreal, Quebec.

.................
 

 
......


Art et témoignage:
art, art-thérapie et élaboration traumatique
C olloque international


.....
   

Du 18 au 20 septembre 2008
Montréal, Québec

Le colloque international Art et témoignage a pour objectif de partager les connaissances acquises quant au rôle et à l’importance de la création lors de situations traumatiques ou à la suite de celles-ci. Ce colloque se propose également de démontrer l’efficacité des thérapies par les arts afin de faciliter la résolution du trauma.

Les conséquences d’expériences traumatiques constituent aujourd’hui un enjeu important en matière de santé publique dans plusieurs pays du monde. Génocide, conflits armés, terrorisme, abus et pertes figurent parmi les expériences traumatiques vécues collectivement ou individuellement. Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les humains se sont tournés vers les arts pour tenter de comprendre, d’explorer ou d’exprimer ce que l’expérience d’un vécu traumatique a comme conséquences douloureuses. L’art peut exprimer ce qui est parfois inexprimable, l’art peut parfois traduire l’indicible. C’est pourquoi l’art-thérapie est de plus en plus reconnue comme étant un traitement de choix dans l’intervention du trauma.

Ce colloque se tiendra à Montréal, Québec (Canada), du 18 au 20 septembre 2008. Il réunira des chercheurs internationaux, des thérapeutes par les arts et autres praticiens, des artistes et des étudiants qui présenteront leurs plus récentes recherches et réalisations artistiques portant sur la fonction de témoin de l’art et son rôle dans l’élaboration du trauma. Lors des présentations et des ateliers, les participants et les conférenciers auront la possibilité d’échanger leurs idées dans un esprit de collégialité et d’ouverture.

Buts du colloque:

  1. Susciter un dialogue interdisciplinaire sur la fonction de l’art et du processus créatif en situation de trauma ou dans la suite d’un vécu traumatique.
  2. Promouvoir les connaissances relatives à l’efficacité des thérapies par les arts en situation traumatique et dans le processus de résolution du trauma.
 

 

 
Copyright © 2008 Art as Witness Conference, Montreal, Quebec.